Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Nomad Factory Analog Signature Pack Vs. Psp Vintage Warmer, Please--unbiased views from those who have used both
DISFrontman
post Mar 20 2007, 08:28 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,116

Hey Don'tCrackers,

I am posting the same thread here that I have on the PSP forum site:

I am ready to make a purchase and I have narrowed the choices down to these two:

PSP Vintage Warmer

or

Nomad Factory's Analog Signature Pack

(including Limiting Amplifier LM-662, Program Equalizer EQP-4, and Studio Channel SC-226)

I know this is a biased forum, so I'll factor that in. I have seen that while some reviewers consider them comparable, overall I see a clear tilt in the direction of PSP by working engineers, at least the original version of VW. There have been complaints about the UB version of VW, but over time people are realizing how to get their old tones back on the new plug--and as I am new to it, I do not have a backlog of projects that used the old one.

Does anyone here have experience with both plugs and can offer a reasonably unbased comparison/recommendation? Keep in mind that I am not a professional studio engineer--I am a DIY recording artist. I only need the technology that will make my OWN stuff sound good, not sounds for every recording scenario.

My sound is an updated version of that fat, fat, fat old-school classic rock sound, like the album Spilt Milk by Jellyfish, or vintage Queen, DSOTM Floyd, Hemispheres/Permanent Waves Rush, and Allan Holdsworth I.O.U., which are among my favorites.

I welcome any insights. Have any of you A/B'ed these against VW2?

Thanks,
Bart of DIS
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
thebends
post Mar 20 2007, 03:52 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 1,041

Look, I would say both but the truth is that Nomad stuff is actually AMAZING. I have been using it now for months.. I have all of them and they are more important to me now thatn the WAVES stuff! I mean it!