Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> All Tonestack Amps Sound Identicle
LejonBrames
post Jan 18 2015, 09:48 PM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 12-December 14
Member No.: 17,313



I dunno if it's a bug or what, but there is nearly no difference between any of the tone stack amps.

Does anyone else have this issue?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick
post Jan 21 2015, 11:53 AM
Post #2


Staff
***

Group: Team
Posts: 576
Joined: 19-June 12
Member No.: 11,576



QUOTE (LejonBrames @ Jan 18 2015, 09:48 PM) *
I dunno if it's a bug or what, but there is nearly no difference between any of the tone stack amps.

Does anyone else have this issue?


Hello LejonBrames,

I appreciate that the difference could be a bit subtle, but if one had the amps in question lined up to play with, I think the differences would be about the same.

The 'Prince tone' and 'AC-30' are quite different to the 'Twin Verb and Bass-man' which model two amps from the same family.

Same thing with the 'JMC-800' and the '2000 lead' who share the same heritage.

You can customise the tones of each by switching the cabinets and adding contour to the sound as well as dealing in as much bass, middle and high end you want.

Best Regards,

Nick

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LejonBrames
post Feb 2 2015, 11:08 PM
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 12-December 14
Member No.: 17,313



QUOTE (Nick@DontCrack @ Jan 21 2015, 11:53 AM) *
Hello LejonBrames,

I appreciate that the difference could be a bit subtle, but if one had the amps in question lined up to play with, I think the differences would be about the same.

The 'Prince tone' and 'AC-30' are quite different to the 'Twin Verb and Bass-man' which model two amps from the same family.

Same thing with the 'JMC-800' and the '2000 lead' who share the same heritage.

You can customise the tones of each by switching the cabinets and adding contour to the sound as well as dealing in as much bass, middle and high end you want.

Best Regards,

Nick


What does the 'contour' switch do, and what does 'OFF' do?

OFF is still distorting the signal, and my harmonic analyzer shows no harmonic difference between the models, and only the EQ curve changes.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick
post Feb 3 2015, 11:51 AM
Post #4


Staff
***

Group: Team
Posts: 576
Joined: 19-June 12
Member No.: 11,576



QUOTE (LejonBrames @ Feb 2 2015, 11:08 PM) *
What does the 'contour' switch do, and what does 'OFF' do?

OFF is still distorting the signal, and my harmonic analyzer shows no harmonic difference between the models, and only the EQ curve changes.


Hello LejonBrames,

CONTOUR - Switches on extra tone-shaping for added control. ( basically it switches in a different response curve that adds different frequencies )

Your harmonic analyzer shows no harmonic difference between the models, but your ears should tell you a different story. As I said there are subtle differences between the models selected that you can further change with the bass, middle, and treble to get the tone that suits your song.

That harmonic analyzer would show something very similar if you had all the amps at your disposition to test out as the heads and cabinets would show different EQ responses.

OFF means the tonestack is not active, like a bypass, but you can still play with the tone controls. If it distorts maybe the incoming level is too high?

Best Regards,

Nick

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LejonBrames
post Feb 11 2015, 08:13 AM
Post #5


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 12-December 14
Member No.: 17,313



QUOTE (Nick@DontCrack @ Feb 3 2015, 11:51 AM) *
Hello LejonBrames,

CONTOUR - Switches on extra tone-shaping for added control. ( basically it switches in a different response curve that adds different frequencies )

Your harmonic analyzer shows no harmonic difference between the models, but your ears should tell you a different story. As I said there are subtle differences between the models selected that you can further change with the bass, middle, and treble to get the tone that suits your song.

That harmonic analyzer would show something very similar if you had all the amps at your disposition to test out as the heads and cabinets would show different EQ responses.

OFF means the tonestack is not active, like a bypass, but you can still play with the tone controls. If it distorts maybe the incoming level is too high?

Best Regards,

Nick


Nope, I follow proper gain-staging procedure. The Off sounds like an amp.

This plugin seems to have some bugs. As I said, my ears really tell me no difference between these amps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LejonBrames
post Sep 8 2015, 07:07 AM
Post #6


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 12-December 14
Member No.: 17,313



I'm gonna go ahead and bump this, both for the sake of potential customers and for the developers.

For potential customers, this specific amp is the most useless of all the P&M amps. You can get more tones out the of the 4 other amps despite this one claiming to have 6 or whatever models. Move along to the Magic Queen or British tone, because this specific amp will completely disappoint you. There is MINIMAL variation between the alleged 'models'

For the Devs, The 'OFF' position is still adding in distortion. THIS PLUGIN DOES NOT WORK. There are clearly LOTS of things wrong with it, as described above, and by the fact that the OFF position is also an amp. Please fix this, and add some damn variation between the models.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lawkmlaw
post Jan 13 2016, 09:40 AM
Post #7


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 21-December 15
Member No.: 19,297



QUOTE (LejonBrames @ Jan 18 2015, 10:48 PM) *
I dunno if it's a bug or what, but there is nearly no difference between any of the tone stack amps.

Does anyone else have this issue?



yeah, same
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LejonBrames
post Jan 17 2016, 08:53 PM
Post #8


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 12-December 14
Member No.: 17,313



QUOTE (lawkmlaw @ Jan 13 2016, 09:40 AM) *
yeah, same


Thank you. Hopefully this particular plug will get some much needed attention, and can match upto the rest of this great suite of plugs
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StateOfEpicicity
post Feb 4 2016, 03:42 PM
Post #9


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 31-July 13
Member No.: 13,263



I've found the same problem, where the different models were completely identical. The only way I've found to access the different tones was to scroll through the factory presets then alter the settings to taste. I'm running Plug & Mix VSTs through Reaper 64-bit on a Windows 10 PC, if that helps. I must say that all of the Plug & Mix amp models are really enjoyable to my ears, especially the American Tweed, for my two cents.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
LejonBrames
post Mar 26 2016, 08:44 PM
Post #10


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 12-December 14
Member No.: 17,313



QUOTE (StateOfEpicicity @ Feb 4 2016, 04:42 PM) *
I've found the same problem, where the different models were completely identical. The only way I've found to access the different tones was to scroll through the factory presets then alter the settings to taste. I'm running Plug & Mix VSTs through Reaper 64-bit on a Windows 10 PC, if that helps. I must say that all of the Plug & Mix amp models are really enjoyable to my ears, especially the American Tweed, for my two cents.


Thanks for the tip! I will try it!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cosmonaut
post Dec 7 2016, 06:30 AM
Post #11


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 7-March 15
Member No.: 17,707



Tonestack is working fine for me, all the amps sound as they should. Using 64bit VST / Reaper 64bit / Win 7 Pro 64bit. Maybe they've fixed the bug?

This post has been edited by cosmonaut: Dec 7 2016, 06:48 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th January 2017 - 02:20 AM