> My Ideas On The Whole Thing..
Rating 5 V
CS_TBL
post Sep 2 2008, 01:23 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,499

Hi, I just signed up to contribute some of my views on the matter.. smile.gif

First some background: Years ago I spent a bit of my time working for a software company as well, not 100% music-related (the graphics business actually), but of course there were similar issues and discussions going on. Furthermore I'm having my own company related to music for film, tv etc. regular media composer so to say. In addition to that I'm studying journalism (Bachelor degree) at the moment. Anyway, all minor snippets, let's head to my points:

In a way the whole software/crack debate is similar if not identical to debates regarding unofficial downloads of music and movies, but also speeding on the highway and violence in today's society. The official ones who have a word to say typically blame the simplest and easiest target, usually remaining silent about other factors.

To make a run through the list I just made:

music & movies
easy target: downloading/copying and related products (remember the release of the first-ever MP3 player?)
ignored: many people are like hamsters, they just download whatever they can get, even if they never listen or watch whatever they've downloaded. In many cases what they've downloaded ends up on a backup DVD, ending up in CD wallet, and it's probably never being looked upon again. You could say that the product is never used, it can't really be called a sales loss then, no? (After all the title of this website end on the word USE, which probably indicates that a DVD full of unused warez isn't subject of debate here)
ignored:Real fans buy the real thing, because they simply want the real thing, with booklet etc. Those who download are probably far from interested in a specific artist or movie anyway. As is often said in the media: 1 downloaded or copied movie or CD isn't the same as 1 sales loss.