IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
P&m Crashes Final Cut Pro 7.0.3
dewpill
post Nov 5 2014, 11:23 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 7-December 09
Member No.: 3,443



Hi everybody.

All is in the title:
Did anyone encountered this issue?

Mac Intel dual 6 core 4x 1TO HDs, 24 Go RAM
Mac OS X 10.6.8

P&M v 3.0.2 AU and VST are installed and authorized.
This doesn't help either.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Regards.

Dewpill
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick
post Nov 7 2014, 04:14 PM
Post #2


Staff
***

Group: Team
Posts: 600
Joined: 19-June 12
From: Montreal - CA
Member No.: 11,576



QUOTE (dewpill @ Nov 5 2014, 11:23 PM) *
Hi everybody.

All is in the title:
Did anyone encountered this issue?

Mac Intel dual 6 core 4x 1TO HDs, 24 Go RAM
Mac OS X 10.6.8

P&M v 3.0.2 AU and VST are installed and authorized.
This doesn't help either.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Regards.

Dewpill


Hello Dewpill,

We had a discussion with the developers last night about some of the problems people were having on older systems such Final Cut Pro 7 and ProTools 7 or 8.

From what we have seen it has to do with the ability of the applications that have older code bases to deal with the graphics of the plug-ins and the graphics cards in older machines.

All the latest versions 3 and 3.2 have graphics code that had to be written correctly with the changes required for the newer OS out there such as Windows 7 and 8 as well as the Mac OS10.7 10.8 and 10.9 they are sometimes exhibit weird behavior.

Try this out just to see if it provokes a crash as well.

Trash the installed 3.02 AU and VST, and install the older version 2.

Tell me what happens.

Best Regards,

Nick

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dewpill
post Nov 10 2014, 04:00 PM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 7-December 09
Member No.: 3,443



QUOTE (Nick@DontCrack @ Nov 7 2014, 04:14 PM) *
Hello Dewpill,

We had a discussion with the developers last night about some of the problems people were having on older systems such Final Cut Pro 7 and ProTools 7 or 8.

From what we have seen it has to do with the ability of the applications that have older code bases to deal with the graphics of the plug-ins and the graphics cards in older machines.

All the latest versions 3 and 3.2 have graphics code that had to be written correctly with the changes required for the newer OS out there such as Windows 7 and 8 as well as the Mac OS10.7 10.8 and 10.9 they are sometimes exhibit weird behavior.

Try this out just to see if it provokes a crash as well.

Trash the installed 3.02 AU and VST, and install the older version 2.

Tell me what happens.

Best Regards,

Nick




Good afternoon. :-)

Thanks for the quick reply.

There still remains a few pending issues:

The 2.0 installer seems to run properly and informs me that the plug-ins will be installed for all the users of my computer.
So be it, but when I go to the Library/Audio/Plug-ins/Components folder, even after restart, no P&M plug-in shows up.
Just in case, I went to check the Users/Library/Audio/Plug-ins/Components folder but didn't find anything either.
Where did they end up? That is the question.

More over, the 2.0 installer seems to include only a part of the plug-ins delivered with the 3.02 installer.
How do I get the "missing" plug-ins installed?

Thanks for your help.

Best regards,

Dewpill
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick
post Nov 13 2014, 11:28 AM
Post #4


Staff
***

Group: Team
Posts: 600
Joined: 19-June 12
From: Montreal - CA
Member No.: 11,576



QUOTE (dewpill @ Nov 10 2014, 04:00 PM) *
Good afternoon. :-)

Thanks for the quick reply.

There still remains a few pending issues:

The 2.0 installer seems to run properly and informs me that the plug-ins will be installed for all the users of my computer.
So be it, but when I go to the Library/Audio/Plug-ins/Components folder, even after restart, no P&M plug-in shows up.
Just in case, I went to check the Users/Library/Audio/Plug-ins/Components folder but didn't find anything either.
Where did they end up? That is the question.

More over, the 2.0 installer seems to include only a part of the plug-ins delivered with the 3.02 installer.
How do I get the "missing" plug-ins installed?

Thanks for your help.

Best regards,

Dewpill


Hello Dewpill,

Here are two things that might help.

First is the copying of the code.

A space before or after the code will also cause the code to not work!

So please try again to activate by highlighting the code, making very sure that there are no spaces before or after, and copying the code in.

This might be the key to unlocking the install, if it doesn't work we go to the second case which had to do with getting "access" to the proper install of the program files to the system.

In the second case I ask the client to look at the following:

As you saw there wasn't a Macintoch HD/library/Application Support/Plug and Mix folder


If the "permissions" are not set to "read and write" for all the persons listed including "everybody" then the install is blocked by the system. This is what is happening here.

To help you out I need you to highlight the Application Support in the path Macintoch HD/library and get info and look at the permissions, see if all the "users" including "everyone" is set to "read and write"

My guess is one is missing.

Correct it and try the install again, once again paying attention to the code itself ;-)

It should work.

Hope this get things sorted out.

Best Regards,

Nick
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dewpill
post Nov 16 2014, 10:30 PM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 7-December 09
Member No.: 3,443



QUOTE (Nick@DontCrack @ Nov 13 2014, 11:28 AM) *
Hello Dewpill,

Here are two things that might help.

First is the copying of the code.

A space before or after the code will also cause the code to not work!

So please try again to activate by highlighting the code, making very sure that there are no spaces before or after, and copying the code in.

This might be the key to unlocking the install, if it doesn't work we go to the second case which had to do with getting "access" to the proper install of the program files to the system.

In the second case I ask the client to look at the following:

As you saw there wasn't a Macintoch HD/library/Application Support/Plug and Mix folder


If the "permissions" are not set to "read and write" for all the persons listed including "everybody" then the install is blocked by the system. This is what is happening here.

To help you out I need you to highlight the Application Support in the path Macintoch HD/library and get info and look at the permissions, see if all the "users" including "everyone" is set to "read and write"

My guess is one is missing.

Correct it and try the install again, once again paying attention to the code itself ;-)

It should work.

Hope this get things sorted out.

Best Regards,

Nick



Good evening, Nick.

According to your instructions, I've checked the folders authorization:
Everything is "everyone R/W" in the MacintoshHD/Library/Audio/Plug-ins as well in the MacintoshHD/Library/Audio/Application Support.

By the way, there IS a Plug and Mix folder in the Application Support folder.

I've trashed it and installed again from the 2.0 installer and authorized with a "proper" Copy/Paste.
In fact, I also even tried typing the autho code.
In both ways the installer reported the process as successful.

Unfortunately, P&M components still remain invisible in the MacintoshHD/Library/Audio/Plug-ins folder
Same thing in Digital Performer.
Therefore, the Plug and Mix folder in the MacintoshHD/Library/Audio/Application Support folder has been recreated by the installer (correct, no?)

Thanks for a few more ideas. :-)

Best regards,

Dewpill



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick
post Nov 26 2014, 03:38 PM
Post #6


Staff
***

Group: Team
Posts: 600
Joined: 19-June 12
From: Montreal - CA
Member No.: 11,576



QUOTE (dewpill @ Nov 16 2014, 10:30 PM) *
Good evening, Nick.

According to your instructions, I've checked the folders authorization:
Everything is "everyone R/W" in the MacintoshHD/Library/Audio/Plug-ins as well in the MacintoshHD/Library/Audio/Application Support.

By the way, there IS a Plug and Mix folder in the Application Support folder.

I've trashed it and installed again from the 2.0 installer and authorized with a "proper" Copy/Paste.
In fact, I also even tried typing the autho code.
In both ways the installer reported the process as successful.

Unfortunately, P&M components still remain invisible in the MacintoshHD/Library/Audio/Plug-ins folder
Same thing in Digital Performer.
Therefore, the Plug and Mix folder in the MacintoshHD/Library/Audio/Application Support folder has been recreated by the installer (correct, no?)

Thanks for a few more ideas. :-)

Best regards,

Dewpill



Hello Dewpill,

I did some research and I found this.

Maybe if you move the P+M folder to the location below they will show up?

Final Cut Pro (4-7)
When you select these options in the installer, the plug-in will be installed to the appropriate folder below:

Final Cut Pro (All Users)
Macintosh HD/Library/Application Support/Final Cut Pro System Support/Plugins

Final Cut Pro (Current User) *
Home/Library/Preferences/Final Cut Pro User Data/Plugins

Final Cut Express (All Users)
Macintosh HD/Library/Application Support/Final Cut Express Support/Plugins

Final Cut Express (Current User) *
Home/Library/Preferences/Final Cut Express User Data/Plugins

* Please note that in OS X Lion and later, the user level Library folder is hidden by default. In Finder, hold down the Option key and choose Go > Library to reveal it.

Best Regards,

Nick
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th September 2019 - 09:58 PM