Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Catalina?, What's the status of the Nomad Factory plugins for Catalina?
jottinger
post May 5 2020, 04:55 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 14-January 14
Member No.: 14,902



What's the status of the Nomad Factory plugins for Catalina? I am jonesing for the Drum Tools and COSMOS, in particular.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zettemusik
post May 6 2020, 07:11 AM
Post #2


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 2-September 14
Member No.: 16,554



QUOTE (jottinger @ May 5 2020, 05:55 PM) *
What's the status of the Nomad Factory plugins for Catalina? I am jonesing for the Drum Tools and COSMOS, in particular.


Exactly. Also with the license authorisation. Some plugins work but I can not authorise them....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ashley Smith
post May 12 2020, 02:15 PM
Post #3


Staff
***

Group: Team
Posts: 188
Joined: 3-December 15
From: Notinghamshire - UK
Member No.: 19,223




At this time we do not support Catalina (as seen by supported OS at the downloads page up-to 10.14) and advise users to not upgrade should they use our plug-ins in sessions but stick with Mojave as the latest compatible and support OS for our plug-ins. There is currently no hack method to authorize as the Software Activator is a 32-bit application of which we will be dissolving for a new authorization method as used by our latter new plug-ins, activating directly via the plug-in GUI with an activation code.

We're working towards porting all plug-ins to a new framework, refactoring code and reskinning GUI, optimizing and supporting the new macOS Catalina through Apple's notarization requirements. We advised where possible sticking with Mojave until notice.

Given our extensive catalogue however, this will take some time with our small development team. More details are here in the news - http://go.nomadfactory.com/news/n91-Nomad-...-Bright-Future/

-------------------

The plug-ins do work however, it's just the activation with the app that does not run. So...

You may wish to try authorizing on another system with older OS using same internet connection to get the license file and then transferring to your Catalina machine by placing in Library/Application Support/Nomad Factory/Licenses. This works and you may try a virtual machine to do so instead if tied to Catalina by the computer you have...

Here's a vid for example to create a virtual machine in which you may then run the outdated Activator to generate your license - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bQVAT5SntKk


--------------------
Plugivery
Ashley Smith
QA | Creative Development | Product Specialist
Website

For all support queries, please contact us :
DontCrack Support
Nomad Factory Support
Plug and Mix Support
ircamLAB Support
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jottinger
post May 23 2020, 12:52 PM
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 14-January 14
Member No.: 14,902



QUOTE (Ashley Smith @ May 12 2020, 09:15 AM) *
You may wish to try authorizing on another system with older OS using same internet connection to get the license file and then transferring to your Catalina machine by placing in Library/Application Support/Nomad Factory/Licenses. This works and you may try a virtual machine to do so instead if tied to Catalina by the computer you have...

Here's a vid for example to create a virtual machine in which you may then run the outdated Activator to generate your license - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bQVAT5SntKk


Hmm. I DO have COSMOS and DrumTools activated on a Windows machine - you're saying I could use THAT authorization in Catalina? (Going to Mojave is not an option; this is a new Mac and has never had Mojave or anything other than Catalina on it.)

I looked for what might have been configuration files for COSMOS and DrumTools, because I was going to try it first, but I have NO idea where to look; the windows registry doesn't have a reference that I saw. (It might be there, but *I* didn't see it.) Any idea where those files would live? I'll be glad to try it out, at the very least - I *miss* DrumTools. COSMOS is awesome, but I can live without it; DrumTools is something I *can* work around but I'd rather not.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jottinger
post May 24 2020, 02:41 PM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 14-January 14
Member No.: 14,902



HOLY COW I THINK IT WORKED.

For others: what I did was go to my Windows machine, where Drumtools was activated, and copied /Users/MyUserName/Documents/Nomad Factory/* to a network drive.

I then copied those files into the mac filesystem: /Users/MyUserName/Documents/Nomad Factory/

Then when I added Drum Tools as a VST effect, I needed to enter my activation code again, but it's NOT in demo mode from what I can tell. I'll keep playing with it, to make sure, but I *think* I've succeeded at last!

QUOTE (jottinger @ May 23 2020, 07:52 AM) *
Hmm. I DO have COSMOS and DrumTools activated on a Windows machine - you're saying I could use THAT authorization in Catalina? (Going to Mojave is not an option; this is a new Mac and has never had Mojave or anything other than Catalina on it.)

I looked for what might have been configuration files for COSMOS and DrumTools, because I was going to try it first, but I have NO idea where to look; the windows registry doesn't have a reference that I saw. (It might be there, but *I* didn't see it.) Any idea where those files would live? I'll be glad to try it out, at the very least - I *miss* DrumTools. COSMOS is awesome, but I can live without it; DrumTools is something I *can* work around but I'd rather not.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jdifeb74
post Jun 2 2020, 01:55 PM
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 2-June 20
Member No.: 33,186



QUOTE (Ashley Smith @ May 12 2020, 02:15 PM) *
At this time we do not support Catalina (as seen by supported OS at the downloads page up-to 10.14) and advise users to not upgrade should they use our plug-ins in sessions but stick with Mojave as the latest compatible and support OS for our plug-ins. There is currently no hack method to authorize as the Software Activator is a 32-bit application of which we will be dissolving for a new authorization method as used by our latter new plug-ins, activating directly via the plug-in GUI with an activation code.

We're working towards porting all plug-ins to a new framework, refactoring code and reskinning GUI, optimizing and supporting the new macOS Catalina through Apple's notarization requirements. We advised where possible sticking with Mojave until notice.

Given our extensive catalogue however, this will take some time with our small development team. More details are here in the news - http://go.nomadfactory.com/news/n91-Nomad-...-Bright-Future/

-------------------

The plug-ins do work however, it's just the activation with the app that does not run. So...

You may wish to try authorizing on another system with older OS using same internet connection to get the license file and then transferring to your Catalina machine by placing in Library/Application Support/Nomad Factory/Licenses. This works and you may try a virtual machine to do so instead if tied to Catalina by the computer you have...

Here's a vid for example to create a virtual machine in which you may then run the outdated Activator to generate your license - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bQVAT5SntKk

Thank you for this! It worked.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ashley Smith
post Jun 8 2020, 11:05 AM
Post #7


Staff
***

Group: Team
Posts: 188
Joined: 3-December 15
From: Notinghamshire - UK
Member No.: 19,223



Thanks folks, glad it's working! We're hard at work with porting to a new framework, sorry it is taking some time (a small team) but it has to be done so we can bring products up-to-date and work on the next. cool.gif


--------------------
Plugivery
Ashley Smith
QA | Creative Development | Product Specialist
Website

For all support queries, please contact us :
DontCrack Support
Nomad Factory Support
Plug and Mix Support
ircamLAB Support
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
supervallo
post Jul 4 2020, 09:26 AM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 22-June 20
Member No.: 33,523



Got myself a new Mac the other day - preinstalled with Catalina. Went to transfer the plugins and failure.... after a day trying to work it out, I eventually found this forum..... and the workarounds suggested donít work for me, which is so frustrating!

Any timescale for when this will get resolved? Iím missing the Blue Tubes so badly - used them on everything since 2006 sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ashley Smith
post Jul 6 2020, 10:13 AM
Post #9


Staff
***

Group: Team
Posts: 188
Joined: 3-December 15
From: Notinghamshire - UK
Member No.: 19,223



QUOTE (supervallo @ Jul 4 2020, 09:26 AM) *
Got myself a new Mac the other day - preinstalled with Catalina. Went to transfer the plugins and failure.... after a day trying to work it out, I eventually found this forum..... and the workarounds suggested don't work for me, which is so frustrating!

Any timescale for when this will get resolved? I'm missing the Blue Tubes so badly - used them on everything since 2006 sad.gif


Please kindly contact help.nomadfactory.com for support through our help-desk with more information, our forums are rarely replied.
Thank you!


--------------------
Plugivery
Ashley Smith
QA | Creative Development | Product Specialist
Website

For all support queries, please contact us :
DontCrack Support
Nomad Factory Support
Plug and Mix Support
ircamLAB Support
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th July 2020 - 12:41 AM