Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ts2 Multiple Bug
friscotch
post May 23 2022, 03:52 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 5-July 20
From: Saint Brès - FR
Member No.: 34,358



Summary:
TS2 issues : dangerous self-feedback + multichannel audio files just play stereo + CPU over consumption.

Product Version and Format:
TS2 version 2.2.2

Description:
• Sometimes TS2 start to self-feedback : some kind of self delay starts and builds DANGEROUSLY, fortunately every time I could switch my sound card off before ear or speaker damage.
• Also sometimes TS2 plays only the two first channels of a multichannel (quadraphonic) audio files. On the 4 Vu-meters only 1 and 2 work, not 3 and 4 (and no sound on these channels).
• The CPU consumption is 30% just reading a simple quadraphonic file without any treatment, doesn't it look like over-consumption ?

Reproducibility:
Random Occurrence : the bugs exists since the first installation of TS2 2.2.2 and I haven't found a way to reproduce them. It just happens from time to time, sometimes TS2 works fine, but I keep my fingers close to my sound card power switch just in case... I currently avoid using TS2 for that reason.

Your System Information:
- MacBook Pro M1 Pro 2021
- Mac OS Monterey 12.3.1
- RAM : 32
- DAW version and build number (where applicable): NA
- SSD : 4T
- Sound Card : RME Fireface UFX

Attachments:
I don't know where to find a TS2 specific bug report file...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pierreguillot
post May 24 2022, 11:40 AM
Post #2


ircamLab Team
**

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 5-December 19
Member No.: 29,958



Thanks for your feedback!

Can you share the TS2 audio settings? The level of the VU-meters corresponds to the output to the audio device so you have to ensure that all the 4 input channels (corresponding to the quadraphonic audio files) are well mapped to an output. There also might be some issues with the audio driver and Rosetta 2 support, we'll investigate (BTW, the audio engine has been updated and is compatible now with M1 so hopefully, TS2 will be compatible with M1 also).
Indeed, 30% is very high, this might also be related to the Rosetta 2 support, but also to the window size or the step size used by the audio engine (even without any transposition/time-stretch the audio engine is active). It would be helpful also if you could consolidate a document and share it with us.

Best regards,
Pierre
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
friscotch
post May 24 2022, 04:50 PM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 5-July 20
From: Saint Brès - FR
Member No.: 34,358



QUOTE (pierreguillot @ May 24 2022, 12:40 PM) *
Thanks for your feedback!

Thanks for your help. Today, opening quadraphonic wav file with same issue. Sound like pure quantization noise. Very loud. (no worries, I do my tests at very low amp level)

QUOTE
Can you share the TS2 audio settings?

44100Hz. I just tried switching from 2048 to 512 and then 1024 and at some point TS2 stopped quantization noise and started to work. But still 30% CPU without any sound treatment.

QUOTE
The level of the VU-meters corresponds to the output to the audio device so you have to ensure that all the 4 input channels (corresponding to the quadraphonic audio files) are well mapped to an output.

Yes, I've been checking that often.

QUOTE
There also might be some issues with the audio driver and Rosetta 2 support, we'll investigate (BTW, the audio engine has been updated and is compatible now with M1 so hopefully, TS2 will be compatible with M1 also).

So glad to hear that. My problem might be a Rosetta issue. My other software (Max, Reaper, Live, Logic, RX, to name a few are Silicon native and I don't experience any issues). When do you expect the TS M1 version to be released ? I can beta-test if you wish. Just PM me in that case.

On another note, do you foresee Audiosculpt to be upgraded too or is TS2 bound to replace Audiosculpt in the future ? (integrating cross-synthesis, etc...).

QUOTE
Indeed, 30% is very high, this might also be related to the Rosetta 2 support, but also to the window size or the step size used by the audio engine (even without any transposition/time-stretch the audio engine is active). It would be helpful also if you could consolidate a document and share it with us.

Do this help ?
svp -quiet -Imem -nmt -Z -numC 4 -resM 2400 -trans 0 -transke 0 -D1 -vu_res 1 -transmo 0 -td_relaxto 1 -Afft 800Hz -Np0 -oversamp 4 -P1 -M46.439909ms -Wblackman -envf0max @0@ -vu_remix @1@,@2@ -td_ampfac @3@ -td_relax @4@ -vu_errlev @5@ -Fclip @6@,@7@ -R44100 -icps 1200 --

QUOTE
Best regards,
Pierre

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pierreguillot
post May 30 2022, 08:48 AM
Post #4


ircamLab Team
**

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 5-December 19
Member No.: 29,958



> 44100Hz. I just tried switching from 2048 to 512 and then 1024 and at some point TS2 stopped quantization noise and started to work. But still 30% CPU without any sound treatment.

Okay, I managed to reproduce this on a machine so we'll try to fix it now.

> So glad to hear that. My problem might be a Rosetta issue. My other software (Max, Reaper, Live, Logic, RX, to name a few are Silicon native and I don't experience any issues). When do you expect the TS M1 version to be released ? I can beta-test if you wish. Just PM me in that case.

Great, thank you. I can not say when it will be done, I am not in charge of the development schedule of this project but I will notify the need to do so.

> On another note, do you foresee Audiosculpt to be upgraded too or is TS2 bound to replace Audiosculpt in the future ? (integrating cross-synthesis, etc...).

TS2 will not replace AudioSculpt. I suggest you look at the Ircam Forum for further information about AudioSculpt and alternatives.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th June 2022 - 09:09 PM